Earnhardt News
2000 Season

Dale Earnhardt Towers over Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (August 15, 2000)
With his record 34 victories, some claim Dale Earnhardt owns Daytona International Speedway. Now, Earnhardt’s name will adorn the new tower seats being constructed at the “World Center of Racing.”

“Dale Earnhardt is the winningest driver in the history of this Speedway, and is one of the true legends of our sport,’’ Daytona International Speedway President John Graham said. “His 1998 win in the Daytona 500 is unforgettable, and he won an incredible 10 Gatorade 125’s in a row. We look forward to him continuing to add to his Daytona records, and we are honored to be able to place his name on our newest tower.’’

The Earnhardt Tower, which encompasses 2,500 seats, is east of the Winston Tower overlooking the tri-oval along the Frontstretch. Construction of the Earnhardt Tower will be completed in time for Speedweeks 2001.

“This is a surprise and an honor,’’ said Earnhardt, a seven-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion. “To be recognized for the accomplishments achieved at Daytona International Speedway is outstanding. Daytona International Speedway holds a great tradition in motorsports. To have the Earnhardt name forever associated with this prestigious racing facility and side-by-side with great drivers and founders of our sport is an honor in itself.’’

Earnhardt, who won the 1990 and 1993 Pepsi 400, is the 12th driver to have his name placed on a grandstand at Daytona. The Speedway’s grandstands bear the names of Barney Oldfield, Ralph DePalma, Joe Weatherly, Sir Malcolm Campbell, Glenn “Fireball” Roberts, Ralph Segrave, Ray Keech, Frank Lockhart, Richard Petty, Davey Allison and Tiny Lund.

More seating means more tickets will be available for Speedweeks 2001. Ticket reservations are now available by calling the Speedway Ticket office at (904) 253-7223 or buy your tickets online at www.daytonaintlspeedway.com.



T h e   E a r n h a r d t   C o n n e c t i o n
Home Page  |  Contact Us